MAHLER, G.: Symphony No. 9 / Symphony No. 10: I. Adagio (P. Jarvi)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Jarvi, Paavo

Mahler, Gustav - Composer
Symphony No. 9 in D major
Symphony No. 10 in F sharp minor

Festival: Rheingau Musik Festival
Playing Time: 01:57:44
Catalogue Number: 729708
UPC: 814337012977

Gustav Mahler spent 1909 and 1910 working on his final two symphonies. The Ninth has gone down in history as the culmination of his symphonic output and a prophetic anticipation of musical modernism. But owing to his declining health, he had to stop work on the Tenth after a few months and was unable to resume it before his death.

Only the first movement, included here, was orchestrated to a point where it can be performed without non-authorial additions. The Mahler cycle, performed by the Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra under Paavo Jarvi has already been internationally acclaimed as one of the most important Mahler projects of the new millennium.

Part 1

Select language: