GRIEG, E.: Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16 (Rubinstein, Previn)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Conductor: Previn, Andre

Grieg, Edvard - Composer
Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 16

Venue: Fairfield Hall, London
Date of Concert: 04-1975
Playing Time: 00:33:35
Television Director: Kach, Hugo
Catalogue Number: A05500595

At 88, Artur Rubinstein showed no trace of losing that quality of joie de vivre that had so fascinated audiences for almost three quarters of a century. The true Rubinstein sound, full and sonorous at every pitch, was always one of the distinctive marks of his playing ever since he began appearing in public. Rubinstein's performance of Grieg's ever-popular piano concerto, accompanied by the London Symphony Orchestra under Andre Previn, is a perfect testimony of his notion of a "singing tone." With playing that is by turns vital and poetic, extroverted and reflective, rhapsodic and poised, this performance, filmed in April 1975 at London's Fairfield Hall, is Rubinstein at his warm-hearted, lyrical best.

Part 1

Select language: