SHOSTAKOVICH, D.: Violin Concerto No. 1 / DVORAK, A.: Symphony No. 8 (Hahn, Jansons)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Oberon, J. 306
Violin Concerto No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 77
Violin Sonata No. 1 in G minor, BWV 1001
Dvorak, Antonin - Composer
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B. 163
Slavonic Dances, Series 2, Op. 72, B. 147

Venue: Suntory Hall, Tokyo
Date of Concert: 26-11-2000
Playing Time: 01:38:47
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS5044

Mariss Jansons returns to direct the Berliner Philharmoniker, rekindling their long-standing relationship that began in 1976. Tokyo's Suntory Hall is alive to a programme of particular musical energy - sometimes overt and joyous, sometimes suppressed and intense. Jansons' fidelity to music composed during the Soviet era remains heartfelt: Shostakovich's Violin Concerto No. 1, featuring soloist Hilary Hahn, is rendered with poise, elegance and demoniac vigour. This piece is framed by two sprightly works: Weber's charming, zesty Overture to Oberon and Dvorak's Eighth Symphony, executed with Bohemian-esque lyricism and verve.

Part 1

Select language:

No subtitles selected