SAINT-SAENS, C.: Piano Concerto No. 2 / TCHAIKOVSKY, P.I.: Symphony No. 4 (Bronfman, Sanderling)


You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Venue: Philharmonie, Berlin
Date of Concert: 08-06-1992
Playing Time: 01:23:22
Television Director: Swann, Christopher
Catalogue Number: EUROARTS5763
UPC: 880242576385

Almost exactly twenty years ago two of the most impressive figures from the world of classical music appeared with one of its most famous orchestras at the Philharmonie in Berlin: Kurt Sanderling, the grand old man of the German Romantic school, conducted the Berlin Philharmonic in performances of Saint-Saens' Second Piano Concerto in G minor and Tchaikovsky's Fourth Symphony in F minor. The soloist was the gifted pianist Yefim Bronfman. It was a unique encounter on the highest musical level, and thanks to the brilliance, expressive power and sheer musical delight of both artists it revealed a degree of timeless perfection that turned this concert into a precious jewel among performances for connoisseurs and music lovers alike.

Part 1

Select language: