NEW YEAR'S EVE CONCERT 1999 - Gala from Berlin: Grand Finales (Abbado)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
Show/Hide Performers

Symphony No. 7 in A major, Op. 92
Dvorak, Antonin - Composer
Symphony No. 8 in G major, Op. 88, B. 163
Mahler, Gustav - Composer
Symphony No. 5 in C sharp minor
Stravinsky, Igor - Composer
L'oiseau de feu (The Firebird)
Ravel, Maurice - Composer
Daphnis et Chloe
Alexander Nevsky, Op. 78
Lincke, Paul - Composer
Folies-Bergere Marsch
Frau Luna
Fischer, Ernst - Composer
Sparkling Champagne
Nicolai, Otto - Composer
Die lustigen Weiber von Windsor (The Merry Wives of Windsor)
Kollo, Walter - Composer
Solang noch Untern Lindern

Venue: Philharmonie, Berlin
Playing Time: 01:48:15
Television Director: Hulscher, Hans
Catalogue Number: EuroArts1332
UPC: 880242133281

The Berliner Philharmoniker celebrate the last day of the 20th century with Grand Finales in the first part of this extraordinary concert, and herald the leap into 21st century with an explosion of sparkling music in the second half of the programme.

For the Grand Finales, Claudio Abbado conducts masterpieces like the final movement of Beethoven's 7th Symphony, excerpts from Stravinsky's Firebird and the last movement of Mahler's 5th Symphony. The world-famous actor Klaus Maria Brandauer narrates from Arnold Schoenberg's Gurrelieder

Part 1

Select language:

No subtitles selected