STRAVINSKY, I.: Rite of Spring (The) / SIBELIUS, J.: Symphony No. 5 (Bernstein)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Stravinsky, Igor - Composer
Le sacre du printemps (The Rite of Spring)
Sibelius, Jean - Composer
Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82

Venue: Fairfield Hall, London
Date of Concert: 27-11-1966
Playing Time: 01:23:08
Catalogue Number: ICAD5082
UPC: 5060244550827

These sensational accounts of The Rite of Spring and Sibelius's Symphony No. 5 were filmed for the BBC's historic Symphonic Twilight series, which introduced the British public to Leonard Bernstein's electrifying conducting. In performances that are thrilling and energetic, but also subtle and sensitive, Bernstein demonstrates his supreme understanding of these twentieth-century masterworks.

The ICA Classics Legacy series presents a collection of historical performances by some of the world's greatest artists. These performances are released on here for the first time, incorporating rare archive footage that has been expertly and lovingly restored.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Select language:

No subtitles selected