SCHUBERT, F.: Klavierstucke, D. 946 / Wanderer Fantasy / SCHUMANN, R.: Arabeske / Piano Sonata No. 1 (Ashkenazy)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)

Schubert, Franz - Composer
3 Klavierstucke, D. 946
Fantasy in C major, Op. 15, D. 760, "Wandererfantasie"
Schumann, Robert - Composer
Arabeske in C Major, Op. 18
Piano Sonata No. 1 in F-Sharp Minor, Op. 11

Venue: BBC Glascow Studios, Scotland
Playing Time: 01:20:08
Catalogue Number: ICAD5101
UPC: 5060244551015

The program showcases Ashkenazy at the peak of his powers as a pianist, performing Schubert's Impromptus D.946 Nos. 1 & 2 and the Wanderer Fantasy, alongside Schumann's widely-loved Arabeske and Piano Sonata No. 1 – a piece that is certainly an unusual and interesting choice for such a recital. His calm exterior means that all of his energy is projected into infusing this performance with the variety each piece affords.

Part 1

Select language:

No subtitles selected