TCHAIKOVSKY, P.I.: Sleeping Beauty (The) (Royal Ballet, 2006)



You must be logged in to view this video

- (Disc 1)
The Sleeping Beauty, Op. 66
Choreographer: Petipa, Marius

Cattalabutte: Marriott, Alastair
King Florestan XXIV: Saunders, Christopher
Lilac Fairy: Nunez, Marianela
Prince Florimund: Bonelli, Federico
Princess Aurora: Cojocaru, Alina

Corps de Ballet: Royal Ballet School
Television Director: MacGibbon, Ross
Lighting Designer: Jonathan, Mark
Set/Stage Designer: Farmer, Peter
Set/Stage Designer: Messel, Oliver
Costume Designer: Farmer, Peter
Costume Designer: Messel, Oliver

Date of Concert: 05-12-2006
Venue: Royal Opera House, Covent Garden, London
Playing Time: 02:12:20
Catalogue Number: OA0995D
UPC: 809478009955

Tchaikovsky's The Sleeping Beauty is one of the best loved of classical ballets, combining in a single work all the enchantment and virtuosity that ballet has to offer. The royal court, the panoramic journey of the Prince to the overgrown castle, and the great celebratory dances of the happy ending (in which other famous fairytale figures appear) are all brought to life by the luscious designs of this celebrated production, created in 1946 for the The Royal Ballet. The inspired performances of its revival for the 75th anniversary of the Company in 2006 make this a superb tribute to The Royal Ballet's unique style and visual splendour.
Select language:

No subtitles selected